Breakfast of Champions

pissedblissed_0503-0607

Full Steam Ahead Breakfast Bowl

Last weekend I had this enormous Crossfit event that I had to photograph, and I made this as my breakfast both mornings because I knew I needed as much nutrition in my body that I could pack in at once.  Photographing athletics of any type is a difficult endeavor, but because this was a two-day event, I was basically on my feet for 10 hours for 2 days.  It was crazy!

Ingredients:

2 strips of bacon, diced
1/2 of a small onion, diced
4-5 small sweet peppers, chopped (the kind that come in those little ziplock bags… is anyone else OBSESSED with these?)
1/2 zucchini, diced
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
1/2 tsp salt
2 eggs
Small amount of baby or micro greens

Process:

Sauté the bacon in a skillet on medium-high heat until it’s about halfway rendered (about 6-7 minutes), and then add onions and peppers and salt.  Allow these to cook for about 5 minutes, and then add the zucchini pieces and cayenne and give your pan a stir or a shake! Turn the heat down to medium, and cover the pan, and allow everything to steam and warm together for about 5 minutes.

After everything is cooked through, put that mixture in a bowl using a slotted spoon.  Since my pan was nice and coated with drippings, I used those to cook my eggs in.  I did mine over medium (my favorite way) but you can prepare them however you like.  I placed those on top, and put micro arugula on top for an extra little peppery-green flavor.  I loved dipping the zucchini hunks in the yokes. It was a happy breakfast that really prepared me for my day.

 

Leave a Reply

