Breakfast Egg Salad

Am I the only one out there who has a hard time getting up in the morning?  Yeah… that’s what I thought.  Haha. So on Sundays one of my favorite things to do is to make my lunches for the week.  Sometimes I get up just as early as I normally do and go all out in prepping all kinds of goodies.  My inner Martha Stewart kicks in when I start putting them in containers.  Such a zen practice.  I’ll admit I usually lose steam around noon, but by that time I usually have at least a great start and am able to finish everything and clean up.

unnamed

However, breakfast has been an issue lately.  I made some lovely Chia Pudding cups last week, but after doing more research, I’m wanting to tone down fruit consumption for a while.  This won’t be permanent. Definitely not.  I just think my body’s in transition and I need to make sure that everything I’m giving it for a bit is totally fuel and there’s no confusion on what to do once there’s food in my system. So that means I really want to focus on getting protein and fats for breakfast.  A friend of mine recommended preparing hard boiled eggs since I have such difficulties dragging my ass out of bed in time to shower and leave before 7:30 with matching shoes.

That’s when I had the idea for this AWESOME breakfast egg salad. Bonus, I looked up how to steam the eggs, and this makes them super ridiculously easy to peel.  That made me so happy. It’s the little things, people.

DA0A4642

Ingredients

6 eggs
1/2 bunch of cilantro
3 cloves of garlic, smashed with the side of a knife to remove skin and crush slightly.
6 strips of thick cut applewood smoked bacon
1 avocado, diced
1 lime, juiced
Salt and Pepper to taste

Process

Place the bacon on a baking sheet and bake at 375 for 10 minutes, remove from oven, flip the pieces over and then add the garlic to the sheet pan where the drippings are heavy. Return to oven until done, about 5 more minutes.  Careful!  Don’t burn!  Set aside to cool.  Chop the roasted garlic into pieces and let it soak in the lime juice.  ( I don’t know if this part is necessary, but I thought it sounded like a good idea… Whatever…)

In a large pot, boil about an 1 1/2 inches of water and place a steamer basket on top of the water.  Put the eggs in the basket, and cover and let steam for 10 minutes.  Remove from heat, and run cold water over the eggs to cool.

Chop bacon into pieces and put in a bowl with avocado and lime juice and garlic.

Peel eggs, cut into quarters and add to the bowl.  Mix together with salt and pepper to taste. I’m hoping this will last me about 3 days.

DA0A4638

2 thoughts on “Breakfast Egg Salad

Leave a Reply

